August 2011


Sunspots

After a near 2 months dry spell I had to do at least a minimum of Astro work. I there took out the 6 inch Mak and took images with the Nikon and the SPC900.


 Object Name:
 Sun
 Object Type:
 Sun
 Object Position:
 
 Location/Date/Time:
 St. Pölten, 25.8.2011, 17:30 MESZ (25.8.2011 15:30 UTC)
 Parameters:
 4 frames with Nikon D40x using the 6" Mak



 Object Name:
 Sun Spot Details
 Object Type:

 Object Position:
 
 Location/Date/Time:
 St. Pölten, 25.8.2011, 17:50 MESZ (25.8.2011 15:50 UTC)
 Parameters:
 300 frames with SPC900 using  6" Mak at f12 and f24



M 101 - Pinwheel Galaxy with SN2011fe

On August 24 th Palomar Tranisent Factory discovered a type 1a Supernova in M101 [1]. As it where, it was predicted to peak/reported to have peaked in magnitude [2] (in the V band that is, at around 10.5 mag) by Sep 3rd. and it was a nice day I had to go for it. M101 is a spiral galaxy in Ursa Major, which was discovered by french astronomer P. Mechain in 1781 [3]. It's a face on spiral galaxy some 6 Megaparsecs away. The position of the SN is marked in the second image. The small smudges tothe upper right of M101 (east) and lower right (north) are NGC 5477and NGC 5474, respectively.





 Object Name:
 M101 - Pinwheel Galaxy
 Object Type:
 spiral galaxy
 Object Position:
 
 Location/Date/Time:
 St. Pölten, 3.9.2011, 22:30 MESZ (3.9.2011 20:30 UTC)
 Parameters:
 10 x 5 min L,  4x3 R, 5x3G, 6x3 B

 Object Name:
 SN2011fe
 Object Type:
 type 1a Supernova
 Object Position:
 
 Location/Date/Time:
 St. Pölten, 3.9.2011, 22:30 MESZ (3.9.2011 20:30 UTC)
 Parameters:
 10 x 5 min L,  4x3 R, 5x3G, 6x3 B



References:

[1] http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/highlights/128430288.html
[2] AAVSO.org
[3] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinwheel_Galaxy


Comments